In this guide
Hydroxyapatite toothpaste is currently being sold as the future of toothpaste. Finding one in Europe is still strangely difficult—especially if you want to know whether it contains fluoride, how much hydroxyapatite is actually inside, or whether the company will ship it to your country without turning a tube of toothpaste into an import project.
So this is the list I wanted to find.
Research guide: This launch version compares current ingredient lists, manufacturer documentation and European availability. It is not a hands-on ranking. I have used Couto and a VITIS toothpaste, but I have not personally tested most of the products below or measured their clinical effects. Formulas, prices and delivery regions change; check the current box before buying. Research last checked 2 September 2026.
This is also not a suggestion that everyone should abandon fluoride. Current UK preventive guidance recommends that adults brush with toothpaste containing 1,350–1,500 ppm fluoride. If you have active decay, dry mouth, exposed roots or another reason to be at higher risk of cavities, choosing a fluoride-free toothpaste is something to discuss with your dentist rather than TikTok.
The short version
There is no single European hydroxyapatite formula. Some products combine HAp with a normal adult concentration of fluoride. Others position it as a fluoride replacement. Some disclose 15% or 20%; others mention hydroxyapatite without saying whether the amount is substantial or decorative.
European hydroxyapatite toothpaste comparison
“Undisclosed” is not necessarily bad. It just means the brand is asking us to assess a formula while withholding one of the details shoppers most want to compare.
| Toothpaste | Market | Hydroxyapatite information | Fluoride | Formula notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Couto Original | Portugal/EU | HAp is second in the INCI; type and percentage undisclosed | No | Contains a sulfate detergent; strong mint; inexpensive |
| VITIS Anticaries | Spain/EU | Current site says active HAp; older technical sheet specified 0.45% nano-HAp | Yes; older sheet states 1,450 ppm | Also contains 10% xylitol in the older sheet; verify current box |
| ApaCare Remineralising | Germany/EU | Medical-grade HAp; percentage undisclosed | 1,450 ppm | Low RDA; contains sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate |
| Biorepair Total Protective Repair | Italy/EU | 20% microRepair compound | No | No SLS; proprietary compound is not equivalent to 20% pure HAp |
| Bioniq Repair | Germany/EU | 20% biomimetic HAp | No | No SLS; unusually transparent concentration |
| KAREX | Germany/EU | Biomimetic HAp; percentage undisclosed | No | No SLS; HAp appears fifth in the current INCI |
| emmi-DENT BioHAP Repair | Germany/EU | More than 15% micro-HAp; average particle size about 4 µm | 1,490 ppm | Contains sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate; manufacturer says age 12+ |
| Curasept Biosmalto | Italy/EU | Substituted HAp plus fluorohydroxyapatite | 1,450 ppm | SLS/SLES-free; RDA below 56; sold as a medical device |
| HERBADENT REMIN/SENSI/SONIC | Czech Republic/EU | HAp with calcium; percentage undisclosed | No | Herbal, gentle-foaming formulas; different products for different uses |
| Georganics Fresh Mint | UK/Europe | Micro-HAp; percentage undisclosed | 1,350 ppm | SLS-free; aluminium tube |
| Spotlight Sensitivity + Rebuilding | Ireland/UK/EU | HAp near the end of the INCI; percentage undisclosed | 1,450 ppm | Also contains potassium citrate and cocamidopropyl betaine |
| APAGARD/APADENT | Japan with European distribution | Proprietary nano-HAp; amount depends on product and is not always disclosed | Check product | Official European subsidiary and distributors; usually a premium import |
| Gutology | UK | HAp fourth in the current INCI; percentage undisclosed | No | SLS-free; 120 ml tube |
| SuperTeeth | UK storefront/import | Brand states 10% non-nano HAp in a public support reply; main specification omits it | No | SLS-free; prebiotics, xylitol and erythritol |
| APATIN | Germany/EU | Nano-HAp; percentage undisclosed | No | SLS-free, dense charcoal-containing cream in a glass jar |
| ZING Original Mint Fluoride-Free | UK | Micro-HAp near the end of the INCI; percentage undisclosed | No | SLS-free; made in Yorkshire |
| MILTODENT | UK availability | Advertised as 15% micro-HAp | No | SLS-free; check current seller and shipping destination |
| Himalaya PRO Hydroxyapatite | EU storefront | Nano-HAp near the end of the INCI; percentage undisclosed | Yes; ppm not stated on the product page | Made in India for European distribution; currently intermittent stock |
1. Couto Original
The funny part is that one of the cheapest hydroxyapatite toothpastes has been sitting in Portuguese pharmacies since long before the ingredient became internet-famous.
Couto’s current ingredient list places hydroxyapatite second, immediately after water. The company does not state the particle type or concentration, so this is not the most technically documented formula in the list. It is fluoride-free and contains sodium C12-18 alkyl sulfate, a detergent in the same general sulfate family that some shoppers are trying to avoid.
What Couto has in its favour is simplicity, price and a genuinely distinctive brushing experience. It is white, strongly minty and not dessert-sweet. I have used it and like it, although that tells me about flavour and texture—not whether it produced a measurable remineralisation effect.
Good to know: Couto is the budget and personality pick, not the best-documented HAp formula.
Current Couto formula and direct price
2. VITIS Anticaries
VITIS Anticaries is one of the more interesting mainstream European formulas because it combines hydroxyapatite, fluoride and xylitol instead of treating HAp as an ideological replacement for fluoride.
The current VITIS page confirms active hydroxyapatite, fluoride and xylitol. An older official technical sheet specified 0.45% nano-hydroxyapatite, 10% xylitol and 1,450 ppm fluoride. The branding has since changed from “nanorepair” to “haprepair”, so I would verify those exact numbers against the current box rather than quietly pretending a decade-old PDF is a live formulation certificate.
I have used a VITIS toothpaste containing HAp, but the exact variant and current ingredient panel need to be confirmed before adding detailed first-person tasting notes here.
Good to know: A useful counterexample to the online claim that every worthwhile HAp toothpaste must contain 10% hydroxyapatite.
Current VITIS Anticaries page · Older VITIS technical sheet
3. ApaCare Remineralising Toothpaste
ApaCare is probably the least dramatic formula here, which may be a compliment. It combines medical-grade hydroxyapatite with 1,450 ppm fluoride, has a reported RDA of approximately 50 and is normally sold through pharmacies and dental retailers at an ordinary-toothpaste price.
The catch is that ApaCare does not disclose the HAp concentration. It also uses sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate. That is not SLS, but it is still a relatively assertive foaming surfactant and may matter to people choosing HAp toothpaste because their mouth dislikes aggressive foam.
Good to know: One of the most sensible affordable HAp-plus-fluoride options on paper.
4. Biorepair Total Protective Repair
Biorepair is one of Europe’s established hydroxyapatite brands rather than a product assembled last Tuesday because an ingredient started trending.
The manufacturer says Total Protective Repair contains 20% microRepair. That proprietary material is primarily zinc-substituted carbonate hydroxyapatite, so “20% microRepair” should not be casually rewritten as “20% pure hydroxyapatite”. The formula is fluoride-free and SLS-free, widely distributed through European pharmacies, Amazon marketplaces and shops such as Notino.
The broader Biorepair range varies. The company says its mass-market toothpastes contain at least 15% microRepair, Total contains 20%, and Sensitive contains 24%. Choose the specific tube rather than treating the brand as one formula.
Good to know: Established, widely available and unusually open about the concentration of its proprietary compound.
Biorepair concentration disclosure
5. Bioniq Repair
Bioniq Repair contains 20% biomimetic hydroxyapatite, with HAp listed second after water. It is fluoride-free and SLS-free.
That makes Bioniq one of the easiest formulas in this list to understand. The full ingredient list is not aggressively minimalist—it includes sorbitol, saccharin, preservatives and parabens—but at least the headline active is quantified rather than left to inference.
Bioniq is owned by Dr. Wolff. Some of the scientists employed by the company have also contributed to favourable hydroxyapatite reviews, which does not invalidate the research but is relevant context when reading it.
Good to know: One of the most transparent high-concentration fluoride-free options.
Bioniq Repair official product information
6. KAREX
KAREX is another Dr. Wolff formula using biomimetic hydroxyapatite instead of fluoride. The adult toothpaste is also free from SLS and titanium dioxide, with HAp appearing fifth in the current ingredient list.
The concentration is not stated on the current adult product page. Older and children’s-product references to 10% should not automatically be transferred to this formulation.
KAREX is normally easy to find in Germany and parts of Central Europe. The company also makes children’s, junior and pregnancy-positioned variants, which deserve separate treatment if this guide later expands to children’s toothpaste.
Good to know: Accessible German fluoride-free option, but less concentration transparency than Bioniq.
KAREX adult toothpaste and current INCI
7. emmi-DENT BioHAP Repair
emmi-DENT has one of the most technically forthcoming formulas in the directory. The company states that BioHAP Repair contains more than 15% hydroxyapatite with an average particle size of about 4 µm, making it micro rather than nano, plus 1,490 ppm sodium fluoride.
The company also explains how the formula attempts to reduce the reaction between free calcium and fluoride. Whether that translates into superior clinical performance is a different question, but it is refreshing to see a toothpaste page acknowledge formulation chemistry instead of saying “repairs enamel” seventeen times and going home.
The formula contains sodium C14-16 olefin sulfonate, and the manufacturer positions it for adults and children aged 12 and over. Its clinical test was tied to use with the company’s ultrasonic toothbrush, so the study should not be treated as clean independent proof of how the paste performs with every brush.
Good to know: The strongest disclosed combination of micro-HAp and standard-strength fluoride found in this European search.
emmi-DENT BioHAP Repair formula
8. Curasept Biosmalto Caries, Abrasion & Erosion
Curasept Biosmalto is less of a lifestyle toothpaste and more of a specialised dental formula. It uses partially substituted hydroxyapatite conjugated with chitosan plus fluorohydroxyapatite, provides 1,450 ppm fluoride, is SLS/SLES-free and has a reported RDA below 56.
It is sold as a medical device and is intended for daily protection against caries, abrasion and erosion. The exact percentage of its hydroxyapatite complexes is not disclosed on the public product page.
Good to know: Interesting for someone specifically looking for a low-abrasion HAp-and-fluoride formula rather than a “natural toothpaste” identity.
Curasept Biosmalto official product page
9. HERBADENT REMIN, SENSI and SONIC
Czech brand HERBADENT makes several fluoride-free hydroxyapatite toothpastes rather than one token HAp product.
- REMIN is the general remineralisation formula.
- SENSI is positioned for exposed dentinal tubules and sensitivity.
- SONIC is a lower-abrasion gel for electric toothbrushes.
- PROBIO adds prebiotic and postbiotic ingredients.
- The company also makes fluoride-free children’s HAp formulas.
The adult products combine hydroxyapatite with calcium and the brand’s seven-herb extract. They use milder surfactants and are described as gentle foaming, but the HAp percentage is not disclosed.
Good to know: A surprisingly broad European HAp range, especially for people who prefer herbal and lower-foam formulas.
HERBADENT REMIN · HERBADENT SENSI · HERBADENT SONIC
10. Georganics Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste
Georganics now sells HAp toothpastes with and without fluoride. The Fresh Mint version combines micro-hydroxyapatite with 1,350 ppm fluoride, xylitol and erythritol in an SLS-free formula and recycled aluminium tube.
The company does not disclose the HAp percentage. It also offers a fluoride version with activated charcoal, fluoride-free fennel and prebiotic/probiotic formulas, and children’s variants. Availability is straightforward in the UK and depends more heavily on shipping and retailers for EU shoppers.
Good to know: One of the clearer choices for someone specifically looking for HAp plus fluoride without SLS.
11. Spotlight Sensitivity + Rebuilding
Irish brand Spotlight combines hydroxyapatite with 1,450 ppm fluoride and potassium citrate in its Sensitivity + Rebuilding toothpaste.
Hydroxyapatite appears near the end of the ingredient list and the percentage is not stated, so its commercial appeal is stronger than its formula transparency. It may still be a sensible sensitivity formula, but this is exactly why a directory should distinguish “contains hydroxyapatite” from “contains a disclosed HAp dose”.
Good to know: Easy-to-understand sensitivity positioning and standard adult fluoride, with an undisclosed amount of HAp.
Spotlight Sensitivity + Rebuilding
12. APAGARD and APADENT through SANGI Europe
SANGI introduced hydroxyapatite toothpaste in Japan in 1980 and now operates a European subsidiary. Its APAGARD and APADENT ranges use the company’s proprietary nano-HAp and are distributed through its European shop and dental partners.
These are Japanese formulas rather than European brands, but excluding them from a guide about what Europeans can actually buy would be more doctrinaire than useful. Prices are generally higher than European pharmacy brands, and the exact percentage is not always disclosed. Check the specific variant because the ranges serve different purposes.
Good to know: The original specialist nano-HAp family, with official European distribution rather than random marketplace importing.
SANGI Europe and its current product ranges
More hydroxyapatite toothpastes currently sold to European shoppers
The market is moving quickly. These additional options are commercially available but need a fuller formula and shipping audit before they receive the same depth of coverage as the products above.
Gutology
UK brand Gutology sells a 120 ml fluoride-free and SLS-free toothpaste with hydroxyapatite fourth in the ingredient list. The company does not state the percentage. Its larger tube makes the price less alarming when normalised by volume, although it remains a premium product.
SuperTeeth
SuperTeeth sells a fluoride-free, SLS-free toothpaste containing calcium hydroxyapatite, xylitol, erythritol, inulin and CoQ10. Its main specification does not quantify the HAp, but a current public reply from the brand on the product page states 10% non-nano hydroxyapatite. That is useful, though I would still confirm the claim on the current box. The UK storefront was sold out when checked.
SuperTeeth Hydroxyapatite Prebiotic Toothpaste
APATIN
APATIN is a German-sold, fluoride-free and SLS-free nano-HAp cream supplied in a 100 ml glass jar. It also contains activated charcoal, theobromine and a long collection of plant ingredients. At roughly €25–€30 per jar, it is one of the expensive options and quite unlike a normal tube paste.
ZING Original Mint Fluoride-Free
ZING is made in Yorkshire and uses micro-hydroxyapatite in a fluoride-free, SLS-free formula. The HAp appears near the end of the ingredient list and its concentration is not disclosed. Cocamidopropyl betaine supplies the foaming action.
ZING Original Mint Fluoride-Free
MILTODENT
MILTODENT advertises a fluoride-free and SLS-free toothpaste with 15% micro-hydroxyapatite through a UK storefront. Its availability and seller details should be verified at publication because this is a smaller brand with less established European distribution.
Himalaya PRO Hydroxyapatite
Himalaya’s European shop lists a toothpaste containing nano-HAp and sodium monofluorophosphate. Hydroxyapatite sits fairly low in the ingredient list, the percentage is undisclosed, and the product page does not state the fluoride ppm. It is manufactured in India for European distribution and was out of stock when last checked.
Himalaya PRO Hydroxyapatite Europe
What hydroxyapatite toothpaste can—and cannot—reasonably claim
Hydroxyapatite is a calcium-phosphate mineral and a major component of tooth enamel. In toothpaste, particles can deposit on tooth surfaces and help occlude exposed dentinal tubules. That makes sensitivity relief and support for remineralisation of early lesions plausible uses.
The evidence is encouraging, but the confident marketing voice is several steps ahead of the research.
A 2025 systematic review comparing fluoride-free HAp toothpaste with fluoride toothpaste found only four eligible studies. It reported no significant difference in the development or progression of lesions between the groups and concluded that HAp could be an effective alternative. Four studies are a promising evidence base, not a scientific mic drop.
A broader 2024 review included five clinical and eight in-situ trials and was more positive about HAp for caries prevention. Two authors were employees of Dr. Wolff, and all authors received travel grants from the company. That conflict belongs next to the conclusion, not hidden in a footnote no shopper will ever open.
The sensible summary is:
- Hydroxyapatite may support remineralisation of early enamel lesions.
- It has useful evidence for reducing dentine sensitivity.
- Some trials have found performance comparable with fluoride toothpaste under their study conditions.
- It cannot regrow a missing chunk of tooth or make an established cavity disappear.
- Fluoride has a larger and more mature evidence base for caries prevention.
2025 systematic review and meta-analysis · 2024 review, including its conflict-of-interest statement · UK adult fluoride guidance
Is nano-hydroxyapatite banned in Europe?
No.
In its 2025 opinion, the European Commission’s Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety concluded that a specified form of uncoated, rod-shaped nano-hydroxyapatite was safe at concentrations up to 29.5% in toothpaste and 10% in mouthwash.
That conclusion is specific. It covers particles matching the evaluated shape, dimensions and aspect ratios. It does not cover needle-shaped particles or automatically bless every nanomaterial described by a marketing department as hydroxyapatite.
European Commission SCCS opinion on nano-hydroxyapatite
Does hydroxyapatite toothpaste need to contain 10%?
There is no universal European rule stating that HAp toothpaste below 10% does nothing.
Ten percent appears frequently online because several studies and well-known formulas have used concentrations around that level. But results belong to the complete tested formulation—not to one percentage detached from particle size, shape, surface treatment, contact time and every other ingredient in the tube.
Concentration is still useful information. If one company discloses 15% or 20% and another refuses to say whether it added 0.5% or 0.05%, shoppers are entitled to notice. The responsible conclusion is “more transparent”, not automatically “clinically superior”.
Hydroxyapatite with fluoride or without it?
This is the most important practical split in the list.
Products such as ApaCare, VITIS Anticaries, emmi-DENT BioHAP Repair, Curasept Biosmalto, Georganics Fresh Mint and Spotlight combine HAp with a normal adult fluoride concentration. They make sense for someone interested in HAp who does not specifically want to remove fluoride from their routine.
Couto, Biorepair, Bioniq, KAREX, HERBADENT, Gutology, APATIN, ZING and several SANGI formulas are fluoride-free. That may be exactly what some shoppers want, but it should never be allowed to disappear into a comparison table as though it were a minor flavour difference.
Frequently asked questions
Can hydroxyapatite rebuild enamel?
It may help remineralise early demineralised areas and deposit mineral at microscopic surface defects. Tooth enamel does not biologically regrow once substantial structure is gone. “Supports remineralisation” is a reasonable description; “regrows teeth” is not.
Can hydroxyapatite heal a cavity?
It cannot repair an established cavity that requires dental treatment. Very early non-cavitated lesions may sometimes be arrested or remineralised as part of a preventive plan, but that assessment belongs to a dentist.
Does it help sensitive teeth?
Hydroxyapatite can deposit over exposed dentine and block the microscopic tubules involved in sensitivity. This is one of the better-supported reasons to consider it, although sensitivity can also signal decay, cracks or gum recession that toothpaste will not diagnose.
Is nano better than micro hydroxyapatite?
Smaller particles may interact differently with enamel defects and dentinal tubules, but particle size alone does not prove that one finished toothpaste is better. Micro-HAp can still deposit on surfaces and occlude tubules. Compare the complete formula and the evidence attached to that exact product.
Can I use hydroxyapatite and fluoride together?
Yes. Several European toothpastes already combine them. Formulation matters because calcium and fluoride can interact, but the existence of products such as ApaCare, VITIS, emmi-DENT, Curasept and Georganics makes the basic answer straightforward.
Which European HAp toothpastes are SLS-free?
Current SLS-free options include Biorepair, Bioniq, KAREX, Curasept Biosmalto, HERBADENT, Georganics, Gutology, SuperTeeth, APATIN and ZING. “SLS-free” does not mean “surfactant-free”; check for alternatives such as olefin sulfonate or cocamidopropyl betaine if foam and irritation are important to you.
Which is the cheapest hydroxyapatite toothpaste in Europe?
Couto is normally the cheapest product in this guide in Portugal, at only a few euros per tube. ApaCare and Biorepair are often the next most affordable through continental European pharmacies. Delivery costs can reverse the order quickly, which is why local retailer links matter.
Which options contain both fluoride and a disclosed HAp concentration?
emmi-DENT BioHAP Repair is the clearest current example, stating more than 15% micro-HAp and 1,490 ppm fluoride. VITIS historically disclosed 0.45% nano-HAp and 1,450 ppm fluoride, but its current packaging should be checked before relying on the older figures.
Are these products available everywhere in Europe?
No. “Available in Europe” can mean EU pharmacy distribution, a UK-only shop, one national storefront or an imported product with miserable postage. Each buying link should state the destination country and when availability was last checked.
Is this a ranking of the best hydroxyapatite toothpastes?
Not yet. It is a researched directory and formula comparison. A proper ranking requires buying the leading products, using them under a consistent method and publishing original evidence: taste, foam, texture, ingredient panels, cost per use and longer-term experience included.
What I would test first
For a useful first European comparison, I would start with six products that cover genuinely different decisions:
- Couto — the cheap Portuguese wildcard.
- VITIS Anticaries — low-dose HAp plus fluoride and xylitol.
- ApaCare — affordable pharmacy-style HAp plus fluoride.
- Biorepair Total — established high-concentration fluoride-free formula.
- Bioniq Repair — transparent 20% biomimetic HAp.
- emmi-DENT BioHAP Repair — more than 15% micro-HAp plus fluoride.
The photographs should use the same toothbrush and approximately the same amount of each paste, with close-ups of colour and consistency and a clear image of every current ingredient panel. Official packshots are useful for products not yet on hand, but original photographs are what will turn this from a competent directory into evidence that somebody actually did the work.
How this guide was assembled
Products were included when they had a current manufacturer page, an established European distributor or a European storefront with enough information to verify that hydroxyapatite appears in the toothpaste. A product appearing through one temporary third-party Amazon importer was not enough by itself.
The comparison separates:
- facts stated in current ingredient lists;
- older manufacturer documentation that may need reconfirmation;
- manufacturer claims;
- cautious conclusions from published research; and
- limited first-person observations.
No numerical overall scores are used. A disclosed concentration earns transparency, not an automatic clinical victory. Products and offers should be rechecked before publication and periodically afterwards.
Some buying links may become affiliate links. If that happens, they will be labelled, and the editorial conclusions will remain separate from retailer availability and commission arrangements.

